Marriage Merriment and Tortured Toes

With one of my colleagues getting married this weekend (congratulations, LO!), I am reminded of our wedding reception.

After an amazing Mexican wedding, we hosted a reception at one of our favorite bars in Milwaukee, MOCT (pronounced “Most” and means bridge in Serbian). This custom-designed minimalist space comes complete with steel beams, four convertible garage doors that extend from floor to ceiling, views of two Milwaukee bridges – a small Third Ward bridge that crosses over the Milwaukee River and the iconic Hone Bridge, and concrete floors. Oh, those concrete floors!

Despite the fact that I don’t remember much of that night, it was a night to remember. It was a gorgeous June evening. The garage doors opened, guests waltzed in, food and booze was served, music boomed, and I loved my shoes. White strappy sandals with metallic detailing across the toes and a silver stiletto heel.

I was so happy (and perhaps overserved) that I danced with my dad; I danced with my husband; I danced with friends; I danced with no one; I danced with everyone. I even passed on the dessert table so that I could keep dancing. For those that know me, passing up dessert doesn’t happen very often!!

Unfortunately, white strappy sandals and concrete floors don’t mix well.

Below is an excerpt from an email I sent to friends dated June 7, 2006.

I woke up Monday morning with horrible foot pain.
I figured…it’s normal considering the shoes I was
wearing (coupled with dancing on concrete).

Yesterday morning, the pain had intensified. I
couldn’t bend toes 2, 3 or 4 on either foot. I even had
to wear FLATS to work (GROSS! Ha ha!)

By mid-afternoon, I had no feeling in my toes and they
were really swollen, so I went to a podiatrist who
took 6 x-rays.

I didn’t break my toes, but I bruised the tissue
around toes 2&3 on both feet. I have to take anti-inflammatory
pills for 2 weeks and can’t wear heels for 4 weeks.
What the heck am I going to do??? Ha ha!

Oh…the drama! I can still remember the pain and more distinctly, the feeling of ‘floating toes,’ but I would wear those shoes again in a heartbeat! Perhaps just not on concrete floors. 🙂

One thought on “Marriage Merriment and Tortured Toes

  1. Pingback: Donator’s Remorse « Mama's Shoes

Leave a Reply

